I’m working on it

It was Father’s Day and Elder Bushman and I were out on our bikes traveling to visit some members of our church. We went to a few doors to no avail. We went to an apartment complex, tried a door but they too were not home. Well I heard some music playing in the courtyard and went to go see what was up. I poked my head around the corner and a big Samoan spotted us. He pointed his finger at a lady and beckoned for us to come over. We parked our bikes and decided to see what was up.

We headed over to the group of Samaons and soon found out that one of the ladies was a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints; and thus the reason for the man pointing his finger. Well, the Samoan family celebrating Father’s Day invited us to have some food and we soon found ourselves involved with a feast! I must say, these people were very hospitable and loving- offering up there food and serving us at every opportunity.

Well at the end of the feast I went to throw away my soda can. I gave the can a light squeeze to compact it. It smooshed down, but not to its capacity. The Samaon man saw me attempting this and motioned for it so that he could throw it away. I gave it to him and said “Oh, I can’t get this crushed all the way.” He took this simple opportunity to teach me a profound lesson. He looked at me and said, “Never say you can’t, instead say ‘I’m workin on it‘.” He then said “All things are possible through Christ.”

In the scriptures we find a similar theme: “I can do all things through aChrist which bstrengtheneth me.” (Phillipians 4:13). Throughout my life I have found that we really can achieve whatever we set our minds to. It is my testimony that with the aid of our Advocate and Savior Jesus Christ, We can do all things.

http://mormon.org/me/1RY0/

About Elder Allred

Serving the Lord in the Florida Jacksonville Mission.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

